Free Press Journal

Shatrughan, Yashwant denied podium seats in varsity event


Patna : Film star-turned-politician Shatrughan Sinha, former union finance minister Yashwant Sinha and former chief minister Lalu Prasad have been sent invitation cards through emails to attend the centenary celebrations of Patna University on Saturday.

They are former students of the University. Prime minister Narendra Modi will inaugurate the celebrations at Science college where Shatrughan was a zoology students before moving to Pune film institute.

Yashwant, who was also an alumni of the college, complained he too was not invited for the event.

Shatrughan who is BJP MP from Patalipitra has not been invited to Mokama, where PM will lay the foundation of six projects of Rs 6000 crore. His name does not figure even in newspaper advertisements either.

RJD president Lalu Prasad, who was president of Patna University students union before becoming MP in 1977, said he would not attend the celebrations. “I will not attend the programme where Nitish Kumar will be present,” he said.

Both Yashwant and Shatrughan had asked the vice-chancellor of the college to facilitate seating arrangement for them on the podium which would be shared by the VVIPs, but his request was rejected.

Prime minister will share the stage with governor, chief minister, deputy chief minister, union ministers Ram Vilas Paswan, Ravi Shankar Prasad and Ashwini Kumar Mishra, NL Nadda, all former students of Patna University.

While leaders and former students got cards through courier or by University officials, three who are hostile to PM, were sent by email.

VC said it was due to paucity of time, and cards are being sent to Lalu and Shatrughan at their Patna address on Friday.